Not bad, IE8!

August 10, 2009 at 1:19 pm (Internet surfing) (, , , )

I am not a big fan of Microsoft. For one, their products cost a lot, and secondly, everyone still uses their products! I never like the feeling that my choices of Internet services are limited or that I’m following the majority of American consumers. I think it’s my innate need to be unique–just like everyone else. :-P

For those of you who read my article about IE8, I have a confession to make. I wrote that without ever using it. But now I am. And I love it! I will tell you why, and this time, it’s from experience!

1. Web slices really are the bomb! Not many websites are compatible with this thing, but I think the more we get the hang of it, the more we’ll start seeing them available. A green webslice button shows up  in your command bar (top right, next to the home button) when it is available.

Basically, a web slice is for seeing a mini page of a site you look at frequently–right from your favorites toolbar. The example they use on the Microsoft website is bidding on an ebay item. You can add a slice for an individual item, not just that webpage, and the slice becomes bold when new information is available. I would test it if I had money to buy something! *tear* 

I use a web slice for my yahoo mail. I can just click on it and see what messages I have in my inbox, regardless of what website I’m on! I really wonder why no one came up with this sooner! I haven’t seen it become bold, so I don’t know if I’m doing something wrong, or what. I still like it!

2. Accelerators are a major time-saver! Whenever you highlight anything a webpage, you’ll see a little blue accelerator button. It gives you a pile of options. These are the ones I use the most:

  • Highlight any address and open a Google or Bing maps page on a new tab with this location mapped. No more copy/paste, new window, clicking and typing! I actually thought of this idea before! Read my mind! :-D
  • Highlight any word or phrase and run a google or wiki search in one click. AMAZING! I use this all the time!
  • Right click on any website and share it with digg, reddit, stumbleupon, and Delicious. Sometimes you can do it right from the current page, or you it will quick link to the website in a new tab. Either way, it’s a wonderful time saver.

I would suggest browsing through all the accelerators and adding all of them that interest you. You may be surprised how many they have and how often you’ll use them. Plus, both web slices and accelerators either open new tabs or don’t require you to leave the page you’re on, so you don’t have to lose what you’re working on just to look something up.

3. One sweet search box! You can set up default search engines, like Google, Bing, Wiki, Amazon, etc., choose any of them at a given time for a quick and easy search.

4. Three words:  previous session recovery. Ever accidentally closed all tabs and realized you still wanted them? Now all you have to do is open IE again, click Tools, and then click Reopen Last Browsing Session. Works like a charm. I’m saved!

There’s other features that I haven’t covered (or figured out how to use). I would suggest reading over more features on the Microsoft website or watching the videos so you can get the most out of IE8.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

